This is one of our ‘UNESCO Global Geopark’ sites. It overlooks the Ardières Valley and gives a 360° panoramic view. At the crest of a hill called La Tour Bourdon, enormous blocks of sandstone were uncovered on the creation of a vineyard. They show the diversity of the Beaujolais region’s subsoils.
Under the Old Regime, La Grange Charton was a dependency of Château de la Terrière. The last people in the Seigneurs de la Terrière line, Anne and Suzanne Millière, bequeathed this wine estate to the Hospices de Beaujeu en 1806. Today this heritage site is unique in its diversity. Its 19th century architecture is listed.
It comprises: a group of buildings with a vatroom with a 5000 HL vinification capacity. Four buildings enclose a square courtyard of close to 3000 m2 dating from 1837. The main entrance is a monumental gateway of which only the jambs remain. The buildings are divided into: lodgings for the vine and cellar workers (1820); cellars and vatrooms (1850); barns and outbuildings (1860), stables and cowsheds (1880) and hay-lofts. 81 hectares (200 acres) of vines and 92 hectares (227 acres of woodland, making it the 3rd largest wine estate in the region.
It is here that the first candle auction of wine was held in 1797. Bidding continues until 2 small candles expire and the monies raised contribute to financing the Hospices de Beaujeu. Though less famous than that held in Beaune, this is the oldest charity wine auction in the world.
High point where the three appellations of Régnié, Morgon and Chiroubles meet. From here are remarkable views over the Saône Valley, the Beaujolais vineyard and even, in clear weather, Mont Blanc.
As you stroll through the Régnié-Durette countryside, you will come across a good number of private charming châteaux and manor houses, including: Château de La Pierre, Château de Durette, Château Saint-Vincent, Château de Ponchon, Château des Vergers, Château des Reyssiers and château de Thulon etc.
Régnié-Durette features a large and imposing church with 2 bell towers. Built between 1867 and 1895 to plans by the architect Pierre Bossan, who also designed the church in Ars and Fourvière Basilica in Lyon, it has become one of the symbols of the village.
Enjoy one or more of our 5 Régnié-Durette marked vineyard walks. Relatively easy with few inclines.Brochure
See all the places to stay on the commune website.Commune website